You are here: Home / Documentation / Legislation

European Directive (2008)

In May 2008, Framework Directive 96/62/EC, the first three daughter directives and a directive on the exchange of information were superseded by new EU Directive 2008/50/EC. The limit and target values and the information and alert thresholds were retained, except for the second phase of the PM10 limit value which was removed. Additionally, based on recent health research into the harmful effects of PM2.5, monitoring requirements as well as limit and target values were established for this pollutant. On the basis of PM2.5 measurements in urban background locations, an average exposure index (AEI) is calculated for the reference year 2010, based on the mean concentration in 2008, 2009 and 2010. This exposure index determines the reduction percentage which a member state is required to achieve by 2020. The new Directive also provides for additional flexibility for deducting natural sources when assessing the quality objectives and makes provisions for postponing the deadline for attaining the limit values for NO2, PM10 and benzene. Where particulate matter exceedances are due, fully or partially, to natural sources, the relevant portion may be excluded. The contribution from winter-sanding and -salting may also be subtracted.

Also the criteria for aggregating data and calculating statistical parameters have largely been taken over from the old Framework Directives. One exception is the calculation of 24-hour values, for which, according to the new Directive, at least 75% of the hourly averages must be available. The Directive also makes provisions that in zones or agglomerations where it is difficult to meet the defined limit values by the target date, the attainment deadline for the limit values may be postponed by a specified period (until 2011 for PM10 and until 2015 for benzene and NO2). For this, a detailed plan must be drawn up showing that attainment by the end of the revised period is guaranteed. This plan must be approved by the European Commission. In 2009 the request for postponing compliance with the 50 μg/m³ daily limit value for PM10 in various zones in Flanders, Brussels and Wallonia was not approved. Like many other European member states (22 of the 27), Flanders and Brussels failed to meet the European annual limit value of 40 μg/m³ for nitrogen oxide (NO2) in 2010. In early 2012 Flanders drew up an Air Quality Plan featuring a package of measures to meet the European limit value by 2015. For its zones in exceedance – the Antwerp agglomeration and the Port of Antwerp - the Flemish Region was granted permission by the European Commission to postpone compliance with the annual mean NO2 limit value until 2015. Until that date, the limit value in those zones is 60 μg/m³. No postponement was granted to the Brussels-Capital Region. An overview of the requests for postponement and the related decisions of the European Commission can be found via the following website link: http://ec.europa.eu/environment/air/quality/legislation/time_extensions.htm

The air quality guideline values of the WHO (World Health Organisation) are more stringent than the limit and target values imposed by the European Union. The purpose of the EU limit and target values is to identify how the best possible air quality offering maximum protection to the population in all EU-27 member states can be achieved in the most cost-effective way. To achieve these objectives, Europe takes into account not only health reasons but also economic feasibility. The guideline values proposed by the WHO are therefore an acceptable and feasible objective to minimise health effects within local capabilities and constraints and public health priorities. For particulate matter, for example, the WHO did not establish a lower limit below which no harmful health effects occur.

Table 1 gives an overview of the various limit and target values for each pollutant, and the dates by which they are to be met. Table 2 lists the information and alert thresholds at which the population must be informed or alerted. Table 3 gives the more stringent air quality guideline values as proposed by the WHO

 

Table 1: Overview of European limit and target values for the various pollutants according to EU Directive 2008/50/EC
Table 1: Overview of European limit and target values for the various pollutants according to EU Directive 2008/50/EC

 

Table 2: Overview of average hourly information and alert thresholds according to EU Directive 2008/50/EC
Table 2: Overview of average hourly information and alert thresholds according to EU Directive 2008/50/EC

 

Table 3: Overview of air quality guideline values of the World Health Organisation
Table 3: Overview of air quality guideline values of the World Health Organisation

Vous êtes ici : Accueil / Documentation / Législation

Directive européenne (2008)

En mai 2008, la directive cadre 96/62/CE, les trois directives filles ainsi que la directive relative à l’échange d’informations ont été remplacées par la nouvelle directive européenne 2008/50/CE. Les valeurs limites et cibles, ainsi que les seuils d’information et d’alerte ont été maintenus, à l’exception de la deuxième phase pour la valeur limite PM10 qui a été supprimée. En outre, et compte tenu des études de santé récentes concernant les effets nocifs des PM2.5, des obligations de mesure ont été imposées, ainsi que des valeurs limites et cibles pour ce polluant. Sur base des mesures de PM2.5 dans des lieux caractéristiques de la pollution de fond urbaine, un indicateur d’exposition moyenne (IEM) a été calculé pour l’année de référence 2010, sur base des concentrations moyennes des années 2008, 2009 et 2010. Cet indicateur d’exposition détermine l’objectif de réduction que doit viser un État membre d’ici 2020. Une flexibilité supplémentaire a été prévue pour la non-prise en compte de sources naturelles dans l’évaluation des objectifs de qualité, et une possibilité de report a été intégrée pour le respect des valeurs limites du NO2, des PM10 et du benzène.

Pour les particules fines, les dépassements qui sont entièrement ou partiellement attribuables à des sources naturelles, sont en tout ou partie exclus. La contribution de l’épandage de sable et de sel en hiver peut également être soustraite.

Les critères d’agrégation des données et des calculs des paramètres statistiques sont eux aussi repris en grande partie des anciennes directives cadres. La seule exception est le calcul des valeurs journalières, pour lesquelles la nouvelle directive exige qu’au moins 75 % des moyennes horaires soient disponibles.

La directive prévoit également la possibilité de reporter le délai fixé pour atteindre les valeurs cibles pour une période donnée (jusque 2011 pour les PM10 et jusque 2015 pour le benzène et le NO2) dans les zones et agglomérations où il est difficile de respecter les valeurs limites à la date visée. Dans ce cas, il y a lieu d'établir un plan détaillé qui garantisse le respect des valeurs cibles au terme du délai revu. Ce plan doit être approuvé par la Commission européenne. En 2009, la demande de report pour le non-respect de la norme journalière de 50 μg/m³ pour le PM10 n’a pas été approuvée dans plusieurs zones en Flandre, à Bruxelles et en Wallonie. Comme d’autres États membres européens (22 sur 27), la Flandre et Bruxelles n’ont pas respecté la norme européenne de 40 μg/m³ pour le dioxyde d’azote (NO2) en 2010. Début 2012, un plan de qualité de l’air a été établi en Flandre ; celui-ci regroupe toute une série de mesures destinées à respecter la norme européenne d’ici 2015. La Commission européenne a accordé un délai supplémentaire à la Flandre : elle ne devra respecter la norme moyenne annuelle de NO2 qu’en 2015 pour les zones en dépassement (l’agglomération anversoise et le port d’Anvers). Jusqu’à cette date, la valeur limite dans ces zones est fixée à 60 μg/m³. A contrario, aucun report de délai n’a été accordé à la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale. Pour plus d’informations à ce sujet, nous renvoyons au site internet suivant : http://ec.europa.eu/environment/air/quality/legislation/time_extensions.htm

Les valeurs indicatives de la qualité de l’air de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé OMS sont plus strictes que les valeurs limites ou les valeurs cibles imposés par l’Union européenne. Les normes de l’UE sont établies de manière à obtenir la meilleure qualité de l’air possible dans l’ensemble des 27 États membres de l’UE, en recherchant le meilleur compromis entre le coût des mesures à mettre en oeuvre pour améliorer la qualité de l’air et la protection de la santé de la population. Outre les raisons sanitaires, l’Europe tient donc également compte de la faisabilité économique pour fixer ces objectifs. Les valeurs indicatives proposées par l’OMS reflètent un objectif acceptable et réalisable afin de minimiser les effets sanitaires compte tenu des possibilités, des limitations locales et des priorités en matière de santé publique. Pour les particules fines, par exemple, l’OMS ne fixe aucun seuil minimal en dessous duquel il n’y a pas d’effet nocif pour la santé.

Le Tableau 1 donne un aperçu des différentes valeurs limites et valeurs cibles par polluant et du moment où elles doivent être respectées. Le Tableau 2 donne quant à lui les seuils d’information et d’alerte à partir desquels la population doit être informée ou alertée. Le tableau 3 donne les valeurs indicatives de la qualité de l'air comme proposé par l' OMS

 

Tableau 1: Aperçu des valeurs limités et valeurs cibles pour les différents polluants selon la directive européenne 2008/50/CE
Tableau 1: Aperçu des valeurs limités et valeurs cibles pour les différents polluants selon la directive européenne 2008/50/CE
Tableau 1: Aperçu des valeurs limités et valeurs cibles pour les différents polluants selon la directive européenne 2008/50/CE
Tableau 1: Aperçu des valeurs limités et valeurs cibles pour les différents polluants selon la directive européenne 2008/50/CE

 

Tableau 2: Liste des seuils d' informations et d' alerte horaires moyens selon la directive 2008/50/CE
Tableau 2: Liste des seuils d' informations et d' alerte horaires moyens selon la directive 2008/50/CE

 

Tableau 3: Liste des valeurs indicatives de la qualité de l' air de l' Organisation mondiale de la santé
Tableau 3: Liste des valeurs indicatives de la qualité de l' air de l' Organisation mondiale de la santé